Political parties square up for fight in county council poll

Date: Monday 10th April 2017

CANDIDATES from all the major political parties are standing in Eden in next month’s Cumbria County Council elections.

There is a four-way fight in Penrith West. The Tory candidate, Helen Fearon, presently chairman of the Eden local committee, is up against councillor Lee Quinn (Independent), Dave Knaggs (Labour) and district councillor Judith Derbyshire (Liberal Democrat).

The four candidates for the Penrith Rural seat are town mayor David Whipp (Conservative), former Eden Council chairman Mike Tonkin (Independent), Lorna Baker (Liberal Democrat) and Wade Tidbury (Green Party). Contesting Penrith North are current county councillor Hilary Carrick (Conservative) and district councillor Virginia Taylor (Liberal Democrat).

In Penrith East, Liberal Democrat Patricia Bell, the sitting county councillor and deputy leader of the authority, is challenged by Mary Dixon (Ukip) John Forrester (Conservative), Ali Ross (Green Party) and Hilary Snell (Labour).

Former Methodist minister Phil Dew is standing as the Conservative candidate in the Kirkby Stephen ward in a contest which also features Kelvyn James (Liberal Democrat), Richard O’Brien (Green Party) and Ian Simkins (Labour).

At Greystoke and Hesket, sitting Tory councillor Tom Wentworth Waites is challenged by Roger Burgin (Liberal Democrat), Doug Lawson (Green Party), Ruth Wood (Labour) and David Ryland (Ukip).

In the Eden Lakes ward, Laura Kay (Conservative) is aiming to topple Neil Hughes (Liberal Democrat); while at Appleby voters have four choices — John Owen (Conservative), Andy Connell (Liberal Democrat), Kimberley Lawson (Green Party) and John Potts (Labour).

Five candidates are contesting the Alston and East Fellside seat — Mary Robinson (Independent), Walter Walker (Conservative), Deb Holden (Liberal Democrat), Alan Marsden (Green Party) and Claire Driver (Labour).

Kerryanne Wilde, of Shap, chief executive of CERT UK, formerly Eden Flood Volunteers, is standing for Ukip in the Denton Holme ward at Carlisle.