QEGS ready for huge challenge at Allianz Park

Date: Friday 2nd March 2018

THE under-15 rugby team from Penrith Queen Elizabeth Grammar School will travel to London today to take on Kenilworth School, from Warwickshire, in tomorrow’s NatWest Vase semi-finals, to be played at Allianz Park, the home of Aviva Premiership side Saracens.

The squad have been working hard in training since their quarter-final win over Pocklington School last month.

Last week, they travelled to Kendal RUFC to make use of their 4G pitch, which is similar to the surface at Allianz Park. The team have been working to sharpen the quality of their play on what is expected to be a much quicker surface than in previous rounds.

QEGS have also benefited from a session with Tyrone Castles, of the Cumbria Referees’ Society, who has been helping them to reduce their penalty count at the breakdown.

This week the focus has shifted to fine tuning key areas of their play, and making final preparations for the game in London.

Coach Rob Dawson said: “The players are all excited about playing on such a big occasion, and QEGS expect to have a good deal of support at the game.

“The coaching staff are confident that the side is ready to face Kenilworth in what will undoubtedly be a tough encounter.

“We don’t know a great deal about our opposition, but essentially that makes little difference to us. We play a simple, physical game at speed, and our work rate has been exceptional.

“If we can produce another performance like we did at Pocklington, then we are hopeful we can be successful. We are expecting a really tough game. At this stage of such a big competition it’s going to be difficult, but we have shown in recent games that we can play in almost any conditions. We can’t wait to play.”

The game kicks off at 10-30am on Sunday and will be streamed live via the RFU website.

The QEGS squad is: David Feddon, Adam Wilson, Harry Miles, Charlie Crocker, Sam Potter, Archie Rattray, James McLeod, Tom Hill, Matthew Rogerson, Louie Johnson, Harry Chambers, Tom Knowles, Jacob Batey, Ahmed Ghaith, James Ellis, Manny Bisht, Sam Almond, Jack Hill, George Buckland, Guy Griffiths, Kelvin Chan, Nathan Sowerby, Gabriel Aston, Ben Gething, Ally Cargill, Josh Bibby, Boody Abdelgalil, Tom Graves.