Awards recognise top season for seconds and good effort from first XV

Date: Tuesday 29th May 2018

PENRITH Rugby Club’s two senior sides held their presentation evening.

Steve “Docker” Reid led the way as second team manager. His team had a first class season, winning their league for the second consecutive season and gaining promotion.

Both the players’ player and player of the year awards went to Jack Peat, while the second team’s young player of the year was Kyle Ryder and top try scorer was Dan Morland with 13.

Captain Jonny Wills gave his summary of the season and made his own presentations which were more of a jovial nature and went down well with his audience, with manager Reid being the main butt of his humour.

The captain and team manager also did the honours for the first team. Ed Swale gave his summary of the season and Mike Sanderson presented the trophies. Both alluded to what a good season it had been, bearing in mind that in pre-season they had lost players, and hopes at that stage had not been too high. However, they were in with a good shout of a play-off place up until the penultimate game of the season.

Top try scorer was Brad Taylor with 16. He came to the club at the begining of the season and did very really well. Also in double figures were George Graham with 12, Jamie McNaughton with 11, and Ryan Johnson with 10.

The player’s player award went to centre/stand off Matt Allinson who was outstanding all season. He also got the nod from the management team and was named player of the year.

The award for young player of the year was tightly contested. Last year’s winner, Adam Howe, had an excellent season and could well have won it again. Olly May burst on the scene, scoring five tries in six games, as did Joe Connelly with four from five, but the award went to Bruce Spencer who played at scrum half, filled in on the wing and showed an excellent attitude, playing with great enthusiasm when his chances arose. The trophy was presented by Ryan Johnson in memory of his brother, Luke.

The last trophy for most improved player went to Lee Chapman. He missed only two games and more than doubled his count of first team appearances. He played a full part in the much improved performance of the front row and pack in general at the set scrum where they provided the most steady platform for the team for many seasons.