Cumbria tourism awards winners

Date: Friday 23rd June 2017

WINNERS of the 15th Cumbria Tourism Awards were unveiled at a prestigious black tie ceremony held at Cartmel racecourse.

The awards celebrate the huge range and diversity of Cumbria’s tourism industry and are open to a whole range of tourism-related businesses including hotels, B&Bs, holiday parks, pubs, visitor attractions, events, businesses and tourism staff. Most of the winners will go on to represent Cumbria at the Visit England Awards for Excellence in 2018.

Ian Stephens, managing director of Cumbria Tourism, received the Tourism Personality of the Year Award for the outstanding personal contribution he has made to tourism in the county, and other award winners were:

Tourism experience of the year — Bay Cycle Way, Morecambe Bay Partnership. Tourism event of the year — Go Herdwick public art trail. Wedding venue of the year — The Villa, Levens; highly commended — The Daffodil Hotel and Spa, Grasmere.

Taste Cumbria Award — Askham Hall, Askham. Tourism pub of the year — The Three Shires Inn, Little Langdale. B&B of the year — The Malabar, Sedbergh. Accommodation of the year — Hazel Bank Country House, Borrowdale. Small hotel of the year — Cragwood Country House Hotel, Windermere. Large hotel of the year — The Swan Hotel and Spa, Newby Bridge. New tourism business — Cliffhanger Rooms, Newby Bridge; highly commended — The Cocoa Bean, Hawkshead.

Outstanding contribution to excellence — Mel Ibbotson, Leathes Head Hotel, Borrowdale. Sustainable tourism award — The Quiet Site, Ullswater; highly commended — Newlands Adventure Centre, Keswick.

Self-catering provider of the year — The Halston, Carlisle. Self-catering property of the year — Hart Barn, Patterdale; highly commended — Gate House, Coniston. Visitor attraction of the year — Mirehouse and Gardens, Bassenthwaite. Large visitor attraction of the year — Tullie House Museum and Art Gallery, Carlisle. Holiday park of the year — Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, Ambleside.